Linky Love #6: 7 Ways To Destroy Your Twitter Reputation

Lauren Dugan, from Media Bistro outlines 7 easy ways to destroy your Twitter reputation. Even though these may seem obvious, it never hurst to be reminded!

1. TWEET WHILE YOU ARE DRUNK (T.U.I)

According to Dugan and I would have to agree, tweeting while you are drunk is probably the easiest way to ruine your reputation. While intoxicated, you are more likely to make spelling errors and get into arguments with followers.

2. USE AN AUTO RESPONDER

Don’t use a robot do you work for you. Responding to followers with a generic message is likely to convince them that you are sending them spam. Your followers also might think that you don’t care about they have to say. You will loose followers and loose your respect.

3. REPEAT YOUR TWEETS

Dugan says its okay to repeat tweets sometimes, I say you should never repeat you tweets. No one likes to see you repeat the same thing over and over. I think it makes you seem boring and uncreative.

4. SELL, SELL, SELL

If the only thing you tweet about are products in the effort of trying to sell them, you will undoubtedly loose followers. People use Twitter to connect with other creative, intelligent minds, not to see how much your latest toaster oven costs.

5. SAY WHATEVER THE #*@& YOU WANT

Be smart, don’t just say whatever and hope there will be no repercussions. Always be appropriate and try not to offend your followers. They will respect you and continue to be interested in what you have to say.

6. WHINE ABOUT NOT HAVING ENOUGH FOLLOWERS

I agree with Dugan, whining on Twitter is bad enough, but whining about not having enough followers is probably the most annoying thing you could do. You wont gain new followers by complaining about how you dont have enough because the only people who will see it are those who are already following you! Go out and get new ones! Be proactive!

7. STEAL OTHER PEOPLE’S TWEETS

Be original and don’t steal from others! Its a big turn off and will upset your followers. By being original you will engage your current followers and attract new ones!

About JonnyWeiss

My name is Jonathan Weiss, but my friends call me Jonny. People always tell me that my name takes too long to say. I think those people are lazy, but I like the name “Jonny” so I’m keeping it for now. I’m always on the go, and usually I'm doing too many things at once. I guess I attribute that that to my A.D.D. My mind can sometimes seem like it’s moving at the speed of light, GOING GOING GOING… My idea book goes with me everywhere. I’ll bring it out at the most random of times to jot down an idea, doesn’t matter where I am. I got my first pair of glasses in the third grade; And yes, I’m considered legally blind without them or my contacts while driving a moving vehicle. I’ve been called a city kid because I’m from Los Angeles, but I don’t let that stereotype define me. I like to find the balance between the simple and complex things in life. Stick around for the ride (if you trust me in a moving vehicle) and hold on for dear life.

One response to “Linky Love #6: 7 Ways To Destroy Your Twitter Reputation”

  1. IWO says :

    Thank God I quit drinking over 20 years ago (rule #1). LOL

    Good ideas on your post though.

Leave a comment