Linky Love #3: Lets Get Social at 30,000 Feet

Okay, you made it on the airplane and found your seat. You are settled in, bags away and ready to go. You notice that you are the only one seated currently in your row and you know no one on the flight. You watch people walk by, awkwardly making eye contact with them wondering if they are the seated next to you. You secretly hope it isn’t someone who smells or talks your ear off so you sit there, anxiously waiting. I know we have all experienced this before, and it can be a very awkward plane ride depending on who ends up sitting next to you.

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines has a proposed solution to this problem. They have made it possible for their customers to become friends with their fellow air travelers before even stepping on the plane through a program called “Meet & Seat“. Through linking their Facebook or Linkedin profiles, fliers can pick seat mates, make friends, see who else is attending the same conference, etc before they even step foot in the airport. This is taking social media to a whole other level and they are the first to integrate social media into their normal flight process.

I am anxious to see how this works out for KLM and if people will actually feel comfortable using the program. I personally wouldn’t use it because I feel that it might make for an awkward situation when we both come into contact on the plane. I also wouldn’t want to take the time to participate in a program like this because it almost seems like it’s more trouble than it’s worth. I would rather sit and anxiously wait to see who sits next to me and pray that it isn’t someone gross or annoying. After all, it’s just a plane ride.

About JonnyWeiss

My name is Jonathan Weiss, but my friends call me Jonny. People always tell me that my name takes too long to say. I think those people are lazy, but I like the name “Jonny” so I’m keeping it for now. I’m always on the go, and usually I'm doing too many things at once. I guess I attribute that that to my A.D.D. My mind can sometimes seem like it’s moving at the speed of light, GOING GOING GOING… My idea book goes with me everywhere. I’ll bring it out at the most random of times to jot down an idea, doesn’t matter where I am. I got my first pair of glasses in the third grade; And yes, I’m considered legally blind without them or my contacts while driving a moving vehicle. I’ve been called a city kid because I’m from Los Angeles, but I don’t let that stereotype define me. I like to find the balance between the simple and complex things in life. Stick around for the ride (if you trust me in a moving vehicle) and hold on for dear life.

One response to “Linky Love #3: Lets Get Social at 30,000 Feet”

  1. kristinzimber says :

    I agree, I probably would not use the “Meet & Seat” program ether. It just seems like so much work for a flight that will probably be between 2-5 hours. Why can’t we meet people the old fashioned way anymore? Why do we constantly need to connect with people via social media sites prior to actually meeting the in person? Im curious to see how effective this program actually is.

Leave a Reply

